Image
Image
Museum Exhibits
The Hudson's Bay Company has had a long established connection with North West River, building its first trading post in 1836. The Hudson's Bay Company constructed the building which is now the Labrador Heritage Museum as a store in 1923.

When the new store was built in the 1970s, the old building was used for storage. The Labrador Heritage Society of North West River renovated and restored the building in 1999. The inside of the store remains as it was in 1923.
 
The Museum has four exhibits:


LOCATION: Located adjacent to the main highway bridge, across the North West River as one travels from Goose Bay or Sheshatshiu.

HOURS OF OPERATION: During the summer season (June - September) the Labrador Heritage Museum is open 7 days a week - 9:30am - 5pm. The Museum is closed during the Winter months but appointments and tours can be easily arranged.

ADMISSION: $3.00 Adults & 2.00 Youth.

Please contact the Museum to make arrangements for group tours.
 
Image
HBC coat (larger version)
Virtual Exhibit
Many of our artifacts and photographs can be viewed in a virtual exhibit on the Labrador Virtual Museum. You can experience for yourself the rich culture and history of Labrador by following these links:

 
Image
Contact Us Today
Meet Our Friends
Discover Labrador Tourism